Demian's Gamebook Web Page

Series - Fantasy Forest

Please log in to leave a comment.

[List All Series] [List Series Full Text] [List Series Images] [List Series People] [List Series Subjects/Tags]

Publisher: TSR -- United States
Categories: Complexity Level : Basic (No Game System)
Format : Paperback
Genre : Fantasy
Genre : Science Fiction
Product Family : Dungeons & Dragons
Target Age Group : Younger Children
Writing Style : Present Tense
Writing Style : Second Person

This series is quite similar to the Endless Quest books, but it is aimed at a somewhat younger audience. Most of the books are set in the world of Dungeons & Dragons, but two adventures are based on the Star Frontiers role-playing game instead.


1. The Ring, the Sword, and the Unicorn
2. Ruins of Rangar
3. Shadowcastle
4. Keep of the Ancient King
5. Dungeon of Darkness
6. Star Rangers and the Spy
7. Castle in the Clouds
8. Star Rangers Meet the Solar Robot
9. Jason's First Quest
10. The Lost Wizard

Related Links

User Comments

In addition to other spin-offs to Endless Quest, they also produced these thinner, lighter books aimed at even younger readers. The books are short (76 pages), light on text and filled with lots of illustrations.

Curiously, books 2-5 feature the same heroes and villains and are basically similar stories, but in each you play a different young person (male or female) who joins up with the heroes. It feels like they wanted to introduce continuing characters but didn't want young readers to be confused by joining mid-storyline.

Overall, they are not a bad intro for young readers to D&D as most of the endings are positive and the violence is minimal. Not a bad series, but could have been better.


Please log in to leave a comment.