Demian's Gamebook Web Page

Series - The World of Lone Wolf

Please log in to leave a comment.

[List All Series] [List Series Full Text] [List Series Images] [List Series People] [List Series Subjects/Tags]

Publishers: Beaver Books -- United Kingdom
Berkley (Pacer imprint) -- United States
Project Aon -- Internet
Categories: Complexity Level : Advanced (Full Game System)
Format : Paperback
Format : Web Page
Game System : Character Advancement
Game System : Combat
Game System : Inventory Management
Game System : Magic
Game System : Randomization Method : In Book
Game System : Scores
Game System : Skill Selection
Genre : Fantasy
Product Family : Lone Wolf
Target Age Group : Older Children
Writing Style : Present Tense
Writing Style : Second Person
Translated Into: Astre d'Or (French)
Ensamma Vargens värld (Swedish)
Oberon (Italian)
Silberstern der Magier (German)

This spin-off of the Lone Wolf series takes place in the southern part of the land of Magnamund and allows the reader to take the role of Grey Star, a mysterious young wizard who must eventually battle the evil Wytch-king Shasarak. The books feature a game system nearly identical to that of their parent series, except that in place of Lone Wolf's Kai Disciplines, Grey Star uses Magical Powers, and these powers drain points from a new attribute, Willpower. Combat, the need for food, and inventory management remain unchanged, though one of the Magical Powers, Alchemy, gives the reader access to an herb pouch that can store certain small items in addition to those kept in the backpack. There is some character advancement during the four-book story arc, though new skills are not gained between books two and three.

The series was reprinted in a hardcover Collector's Edition starting in 2017.


1. Grey Star the Wizard
2. The Forbidden City
3. Beyond the Nightmare Gate
4. War of the Wizards

Related Documents

Play Aid

World of Lone Wolf #1 - #3 Character Sheet (back)

World of Lone Wolf #1 Character Sheet (front)

World of Lone Wolf #2 Character Sheet (front)

World of Lone Wolf #3 Character Sheet (front)

World of Lone Wolf #4 Character Sheet (back)

World of Lone Wolf #4 Character Sheet (front)

Related Links

User Comments

The World of Lone Wolf series is a four-book spinoff from the main series, Lone Wolf. You take up the role of Grey Star, a young magician, in his quest to find the legendary Moonstone and defeat the evil Shadakine Empire.

A new attibute of Willpower is introduced, and this is what powers your skills, magical powers instead of innate Kai abilities. As a magician, your forte isn't physical fighting, but rather magical and often long range. The books take place in the southern continent in the world of Magnamund, a place not visited by Lone Wolf.


Please log in to leave a comment.