Demian's Gamebook Web Page

Series - HeroQuest

Please log in to leave a comment.

[List All Series] [List Series Full Text] [List Series Images] [List Series People] [List Series Subjects/Tags]

Publisher: Corgi -- United Kingdom
Categories: Complexity Level : Advanced (Full Game System)
Format : Paperback
Game System : Combat
Game System : Inventory Management
Game System : Magic
Game System : Multiple Players Supported
Game System : Randomization Method : Dice
Game System : Scores
Genre : Fantasy
Target Age Group : Older Children
Target Age Group : Teenagers
Writing Style : Present Tense
Writing Style : Second Person

This series of books is based on the board game of the same name. Each volume includes a non-interactive novella and a brief solitaire adventure inspired by the board game. The first book's adventure involves four characters; these may all be controlled by one player, or their roles may be taken on by multiple players who then read the book together and confer on decisions. The second and third volumes' adventures are for just one character each, respectively a wizard and a barbarian. In all of the adventures, an adaptation of the board game's basic rules is used. Characters have four attributes (Body, Mind, Combat and Speed), combat is resolved by rolling against the Combat attribute, a limited number of items may be carried, and some characters have access to spellcasting powers. Although the books are illustrated, their artists are not credited.


1. The Fellowship of Four
2. The Screaming Spectre
3. The Tyrant's Tomb

User Comments

No comments available.

Please log in to leave a comment.