Demian's Gamebook Web Page

Series - HeartQuest

Please log in to leave a comment.

[List All Series] [List Series Full Text] [List Series Images] [List Series People] [List Series Subjects/Tags]

Publisher: TSR -- United States
Categories: Complexity Level : Basic (No Game System)
Format : Paperback
Genre : Fantasy
Genre : Romance
Product Family : Dungeons & Dragons
Target Age Group : Older Children
Target Age Group : Teenagers
Writing Style : Present Tense
Writing Style : Second Person

These interactive romances, set in the world of Dungeons & Dragons, follow the same basic format as the first thirty-six Endless Quest adventures. The books feature cut-out covers designed so that a round frame overlays a full-page color illustration; these cut-outs often get snagged on other books, making undamaged copies difficult to find.


1. Ring of the Ruby Dragon
2. Talisman of Valdegarde
3. Secret Sorceress
4. Isle of Illusion
5. Moon Dragon Summer
6. Lady of the Winds

Related Links

User Comments

"HeartQuest" is a series that, perhaps understandably, received mixed critical reviews on release (after all, each book was written by a different author) and was, by the publisher's standards, a commercial failure. As a plus, each of the six titles VERY quickly gets off and running with the plots (if the book has one), and apart from two of the books there are sure signs of intelligent effort poured out into the mapping, creative components and overall experience of the whole work. Unfortunately, each book has serious flaws (some FAR worse than others): choices/actions are often illogical, routes can seem obvious the first time, and the romance-fantasy mix is only pulled off well in one of the routes of the first book. On top of that, perhaps a third-person narrative style would've worked better, as would've a more straightforward story in most cases. At its worst, the series is cheaply written, uninspired and not necessarily thought out in the bigger picture. Except for the first title to an extent, it's impossible to recommend these books - an experimental series that neither has the head nor the heart to create a memorable, worthwhile experience.


Please log in to leave a comment.