Demian's Gamebook Web Page

Series - Dragontales

Please log in to leave a comment.

[List All Series] [List Series Full Text] [List Series Images] [List Series People] [List Series Subjects/Tags]

Publisher: Signet -- United States
Categories: Complexity Level : Basic (No Game System)
Format : Paperback
Genre : Fantasy
Genre : Romance
Target Age Group : Teenagers
Writing Style : Present Tense
Writing Style : Second Person
Translated Into: Dragontales (Spanish)
Sortil├Ęges (French)

These fantasy adventures are a bit longer than average for basic-style gamebooks, being about two hundred pages in length. There is little explicit continuity between the books, but they do take place in the same fantasy world. An interesting characteristic of the series is that the odd-numbered books feature white covers and female protagonists while the even-numbered ones have black covers and male protagonists. Many of the adventures feature a romantic element in addition to the usual fantasy heroics.

Some books from the series were later reissued first as the paperback Dragon Pathways and then as the e-book Dragon Roads.


1. Sword Daughter's Quest
2. Runesword!
3. Challenge of the Pegasus Grail
4. The Towers of Rexor
5. The Unicorn Crown
6. Black Dragon's Curse
7. Spellbound
8. The Dungeons of Dregnor
9. Aphrodite's Mirror
10. Hall of the Gargoyle King
11. Maiden of Greenwold
12. Storm Rider
13. Pledge of Peril
14. Secret of the Sphinx

Related Links

User Comments

This series follows in the footsteps of Endless Quest, in that you play a named and developed young character and almost all of the books are set in a recognisable D&D-style world. However, it is a bit closer to the cartoon D&D world, with elements of Alice of Wonderland thrown in.

The most interesting aspect is that the series alternates between male protagonists (in the even-numbered, black-covered books) and female (odd-numbered, white-covered books). Most books, particularly the female led ones, tend to have romantic elements, similar to the Heartquest books.

I haven't read all of them, but they vary in quality from good to not so good. They all tend to exist in this fantasy setting without the variety of settings offered in Endless Quest. Not until the final book, Secret of the Sphinx, does the author have the really interesting idea of a time-travelling, historical and mythological setting, making it a pity that it was the final book in the series.

Overall, it's a decent substitute for the old school Endless Quest books.


These books do seem beefier than the usual CYOA fare.


Please log in to leave a comment.