Sagard the Barbarian

  This page is no longer being updated. For the new version, click here.

This series of four books was released by Archway paperbacks in 1985 and 1986. The books were co-written by Gary Gygax, one of the creaters of Dungeons & Dragons, and they featured a rules system including hit points, experience points, inventory and combat. Randomization was achieved with a four-sided die or by flipping through the pages. As in the Lone Wolf books, character statistics were carried from book to book.

This page is under construction. As I complete these books, I'll add reviews.

Sagard the Barbarian #1 1. The Ice Dragon
Authors: Gary Gygax and Flint Dille
Illustrators: Richard Corben (cover), Leslie Morrill (interior)
First Published: September, 1985
ISBN: 0-671-55487-5
Length: 121 sections
Number of Endings: 3
Number of Battles: 26 (9 potentially fatal)
Plot Summary: You must pass the Ordeal of Courage to prove that you are a warrior. The Ordeal involves going off on an adventure and bringing back various trophies to prove that you were successful in combat.
My Thoughts: This is a good gamebook. There's definitely strategy to it. You need to collect enough trophies to win the game, but you also need to survive. This dilemma makes for an interesting challenge.

2. The Green Hydra

3. The Crimson Sea

4. The Fire Demon

Demian's Gamebook Web Page (c) 1998-2003 Demian Katz