Demian's Gamebook Web Page

Series - The Adventures of You Series

Please log in to leave a comment.

[List All Series] [List Series Full Text] [List Series Images] [List Series People] [List Series Subjects/Tags]

Publishers: Simon & Schuster (Archway imprint) -- United States
Vermont Crossroads Press -- United States
W. H. Allen -- United Kingdom
Categories: Complexity Level : Basic (No Game System)
Format : Hardback
Format : Paperback
Genre : Adventure
Genre : Science Fiction
Product Family : Choose Your Own Adventure
Product Family : Which Way
Target Age Group : Older Children
Target Age Group : Younger Children
Writing Style : Present Tense
Writing Style : Second Person
Translated Into: 1000 Gefahren (German)
Il finale sceglilo tu (Italian)

Although better known for starting the Choose Your Own Adventure series, Edward Packard actually began publishing interactive stories with this series. The books were first published in hardback by Vermont Crossroads Press. The first title was picked up by Archway and reprinted in paperback, first under the banner of this series, then as a stand-alone title, and finally as part of the Which Way Books; years later, a revised edition of the story showed up as a Choose Your Own Adventure. The second title reached the Choose Your Own Adventure series sooner than the first, being the second paperback release in that series. Both titles were released in 1979 in England by W. H. Allen, while just the first title was released in both German- and English-language editions as part of Ravensburger's 1000 Gefahren series. While not the first books of their type, these adventures are a significant piece of early gamebook history.


1. Sugarcane Island
2. Journey Under the Sea

Related Documents


Evolution of Sugarcane Island
This article compares the original and revised editions of Sugarcane Island.

User Comments

No comments available.

Please log in to leave a comment.