Demian's Gamebook Web Page

Series - Tangled Tales

Please log in to leave a comment.

[List All Series] [List Series Full Text] [List Series Images] [List Series People] [List Series Subjects/Tags]

Categories: Complexity Level : Basic (No Game System)
Format : Cards and Reader
Genre : Horror
Genre : Mystery
Licensed Property : Novel Tie-In
Target Age Group : Older Children
Writing Style : Present Tense
Writing Style : Second Person

These gamebooks are presented in an unusual format -- each story is a deck of numbered cards, and each choice is accompanied by a series of symbols. The reader makes decisions by punching the appropriate series of symbols into a battery-operated electronic device which then emits appropriate sound effects and directs the reader to the next card. Although a couple of stand-alone adventures were produced, the Gatekeeper Chronicles were the main focus of the product line -- the first adventure in the series comes with the electronic reader, and two additional stories were sold separately. Successfully completing all three of these adventures then unlocked a fourth story (hidden among the three main decks) concluding the saga.


Edgar & Ellen: The Eerie Wax Museum
The Gatekeeper Chronicles 1: Nightmare Unleashed
The Gatekeeper Chronicles 2: The Dungeon of Havenrock
The Gatekeeper Chronicles 3: Pirates of the Black Grotto
Nancy Drew: Mummy's the Word

User Comments

No comments available.

Please log in to leave a comment.